RSS

Easy Money – Chapter III

27 Feb

Every once in a while, I am going to post a chapter from a publication that the Breslov community in Brooklyn puts out which is based on the teachings of Rabbi Nachman of Breslov.  I will add my two cents on the bottom of the post and those of you who have a few more cents to add….please feel free.

Even though Rabbi Nachman was a Hasid, his teachings are applicable and potentially valuable to all of humanity

Visit my post “The Unique Teachings of Rabbi Nachman of Breslov” for a little introduction to who Rabbi Nachman is and why he is special.

Here are links to the first two chapters:

Easy Money – Chapter III

Are financial pressures getting you down?  Do you feel like you can’t cope because your flat broke?  Your despair has been instigated by an erroneous belief that all of life’s circumstances are senselessly arbitrary.  Once you discover, however, that behind the seemingly random nature of life events lies G-d’s administrative hand, orchestrating all of creation in perfect synchronicity and with utmost precision, better will you be able to derive meaning from your own dire predicament.

No longer will you be offended by the social incongruity of rich versus poor, because you will be able to interpret your own personal financial dilemma as a test by G-d of your reaction to adversity: do you respond by turning to G-d for support and relief, or do you greet it with unhealthy skepticism and incriminating doubts?

Take advantage of this Divine initiative by starting a dialogue with G-d, confiding in Him exclusively, your distress at your deprivation and penury.

Don’t go sobbing on other people’s shoulders for support, for what benefit can you possibly expect, except perhaps a sympathetic ear!

Remember, all fiscal decisions are decided solely by Heaven.  Therefore, why resent when others have and you don’t?

Welcome the challenge as an inducement by G-d to bring you closer to Him.

________________________________

My comments:

I can’t tell you how true these words ring to me.

I was divorced with two young children and no money and a new husband that just got fired from his job and I had bills to pay.   In the beginning, of course, I blamed everyone….my parents, my boss, my husband, my ex husband, my friends, my husband’s wealthy family……everyone……

But…..after getting slapped with the fact that no one was coming to my rescue….I was forced to talk to G-d directly and pray for help from the only Source I could possibly get it from.

G-d answered my prayers…….but not in words…….through experience.

The Life Force of the Universe (what I call G-d), showed me through my own experiences how everything in the Universe happens for a reason and there is never a reason to feel alone and like everything is against me.

I learned from opening my eyes to the smallest detail of my life (as opposed to taking them for granted), that The Life Force of the Universe is there for me AT ALL TIMES!

I learned that just when you think you are at the end of your rope, something happens to redeem you.

I guess it is an unfortunate aspect of being human that, sometimes, we need to fall all the way down before we realize that life has meaning.

The Life Force of the Universe must know this about us (or at least myself) because, It always manages to be there to hold me up at the weakest moments of my life…….

……and then, when I paid attention, I realized that there must be something out there…….Something watching over me and trying hard to protect me…..if only I would let go of control and let It.

Suffering is not bad.  Suffering has a purpose – which makes it good.  The purpose of suffering is get us to plug into our eternal life source – The Life Force of the Universe.

When we are not plugged into our eternal source of life, we are left to believe that our body and our ego is the extent of our life.  Our bodies and our egos are finite aspects of ourselves and to depend on finite aspects of ourselves to supply us with infinite happiness just can’t happen.

But to depend on our eternal Life Source to supply us with eternal happiness…..just may be a possibility.

Other posts you might like:

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
