RSS

My Taste Buds are Better Than Yours..Nah Nah Na Boo Boo

17 Feb

I happened to have gone to Culinary School, and though I do not cook for a living, I love to cook for my husband and my children- especially since they appreciate what ever it is I make for them.

And….if they don’t like it, no harm done when they tell me.  I just won’t make that dish for them anymore.

But what really drives me crazy (and feel free to assume I am), is when I cook something for someone and they take one bite and don’t eat it the rest (but they will eat pizza and french fries every day) and insinuate that it wasn’t good enough for them to eat.

You know what I am talking about….those people who smile politely and say they are full, but then ask you right afterwards “So, you went to culinary school?”

You know those people….the ones that are picky about everything they eat and they think that it is because their taste buds are more refined…..yet, they only eat three kinds of food.

I know all of you have been to a wedding and had to sit at a table listening to one or two people bad mouthing the food the entire night….while the others at the table sit there and nod their heads in agreement and don’t eat because they are afraid to eat in front of the morons bashing it.

We have all witnessed others tell someone to their face that they loved the meal and then the minute the host  leaves the room they mutter something nasty under their breath about how inedible the food was just for a laugh from the people listening.

I have even been at a table where my friend cooked dinner and invited her in-laws  – and her in-laws – AS WELL AS HER HUSBAND – spent the evening telling her that she needs to learn how to cook – and they are willing to give her lessons.

I had to leave the table.

Yes, getting defensive and taking it personally when I am on on the receiving end of this type of idiot makes me the same type of idiot…..but, because I have a blog, I feel free to speak my mind every once in a while…..its therapy for me…..

To all of you who think that your taste buds are more holy then someone else’s taste buds…..news flash..

EVERYBODY HAS THEIR OWN INDIVIDUAL TASTE BUDS.

If someone likes to eat something that someone else does not like to eat, it means nothing except that you probably won’t be eating at the same restaurant.

Yes, experienced chefs have more refined palettes – meaning that they can taste each flavor in their food more clearly.  They will be able to detect a hint of ginger and a splash of lemon…..

But someone who only eats specific tasting things can never develop their palette to the extent a seasoned chef has.

In fact, if there was a student in ICE (Institute of Culinary Education – the school I went to) that was not a little adventurous when it came to food…the chef would not hesitate to tell that student that the culinary field was not for them.

I, myself, am not the most adventurous when it comes to food.  I have kept kosher all my life so certain things just freak me out (all types of seafood for one)….but I will admittedly never become an acclaimed chef.

Nor do I want to…..

I love to cook, but I love to cook for those that appreciate my love that goes into my food. Sometimes I experiment with my own ideas and it is successful and sometimes it is not…..but my husband and my children let me know and I appreciate the input.

But what I don’t appreciate is the “I am better than you” game.  This game is played far too often and in circumstances that are simply ridiculous……..for example……my taste buds are better than yours…nah nah na boo boo……

All hosts really want is that their guests are happy and that they enjoy the meal that they have spent time, money and love preparing for them.  This is truly all they want from you.

I guarantee that the host doesn’t give a rats ass about your opinion (or – if they do, they shouldn’t) – especially if your opinion is that you have “better” taste buds than they do or that they served you terrible food.

So if your host was a gracious host, be a gracious guest and do your best to enjoy the love offered at their table……..without complaining about it!

Other posts you might like:

Cleanliness is Next to Godliness, but Judging Others is Not

Competition

Defending Humanity….or Just Being Defensive?

Honne and Tatamae

You Are Perfect – No Approval Necessary

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Relationships

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “My Taste Buds are Better Than Yours..Nah Nah Na Boo Boo

  1. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 17, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    I have definitely seen this and I think people need to stop thinking they have the palette of a Geoffrey Zakarian or Gordon Ramsey because they watch TV.

     
  2. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 17, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Reblogged this on pplcheryl63 and commented:
    I can’t help but like this post being a fan of the Cooking Channel/Food Network. However, just because I’m a fan doesn’t mean I I am some food authority. What is really amusing about the Armchair culinary critics thinking their opinions matter is the fact that even celebrity chef’s often can’t agree on what is good. Just watch Chopped sometime. While two of them may agree the third one will have a completely different opinion. If the celebrity chef’s can’t agree it’s proof that people have different tastes in food.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 17, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      I wanted to actually point that out….even well trained chefs don’t agree on what is “good”….because everyone has a different taste.

       
  3. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 17, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Oops! reblogged to the wrong blog. I’ll have to do it manually to the right one now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
