RSS

Calling All Atheists

14 Feb

Honestly, I am intrigued by how proclaimed atheists think

I understand that it is very hard to believe that we were sent to this earth to live in misery and then get punished some more afterwards by what religions call a “merciful” G-d.

I understand the need to feel that we have some of our own power and the opposition to putting all of one’s faith in a power other then themselves.

I understand the discrepancies that exist within organized religion that might make someone uncomfortable with the entire movement.

I understand the need to incorporate tangible reality, like science and history, into the concept of life as we know it as well as what is not known.

I understand the need to dismiss the idea of a Being that we can’t see that we are to be submissive to.

I understand the idea that it may appear that humans may have concocted the entire idea of a “God” in order to maintain control of the masses.

I understand that religions tend to dismiss obvious realities (dinosaurs, evolution, big bang theory, the age of the earth etc..) based on Biblical teachings and that just does not make sense.

But what I don’t understand is how atheists come to a solid conclusion that there is no such thing as The Life Force of the Universe…..

How can a person be so sure that there is not an original, a first and only one force (energy) in the Universe that ALL OF US came from.

This theory does not contradict reason in anyway.

This theory is not the same as the unreasonable description of G-d that religions want us to buy into. (King in the sky with a scepter and ready to punish)

This theory does not insist that we must think that we were sent to this earth to live in misery and then get punished some more afterwards by what religions call a “merciful” G-d.  This theory actually implies that we are part of everything and misery must not have been intended…..Accordingly, there must be another reason why we feel misery and suffering  (hint…..see the part about quantum physics below).

This theory does not take away the fact that we have our own power.  In fact, according to this theory everyone’s power has the same source and,  therefore, the same potential power.

This theory cannot have a discrepancy that would undermine it, because there is no reason that this cannot be possible……in fact the discrepancies within organized religion are due to the fact that the ancient text is misunderstood and we interpret ourselves as separate from the whole.

This theory clearly incorporates tangible reality, like science and history, due to the fact that history constantly repeats itself (there is nothing new under the sun) and science (quantum physics) has come to the point where quantum physicists have come to the conclusion that “reality” is relative to perspective.

This theory does not imply that there is a “Being” that is not seen but must be submitted to.  “Submission” would not be what we would do to serve something that we are a part of.  In order to “serve” something we are a part of, we will push for the evolution of the whole – for our own benefit.  In other words, would it be considered “subservient” if we were to put all of our effort into a business that we are a partner of in order for it to succeed optimally?

This theory negates the idea that humans may have concocted the idea of a G-d to control the masses, because if we are able to accept the theory of One….(we are all part of a whole) we no longer need to control the masses.

This theory does not dismiss tangible reality (dinosaurs, evolution, big bang theory, age of the earth etc…).  It allows all experience to exist, but also allows for different interpretations of experience based on perspective.

You may say that I am an atheist since I attribute everything to something other than the traditional concept of God.

I will respond by saying that, in my opinion, The Life Force of the Universe (energy) is God – and God has a purpose for us…since God was the Creator of us.

Furthermore, if we allow the energy of the Universe to lead us to our survival…..like it does everything else (animals, plants etc..), we will be able to rid ourselves of worry and fear – which is what plants and animals do not suffer from. (animals do not think about fear…they just flee from danger when it is sensed).

If we can take this theory one step further and accept the fact that the Energy of the Universe must have a way of communicating with us……can you imagine how comforting life could be?

And please explain to me why you don’t even want God to exist.

Because if my definition of God (energy) did not exist…..you wouldn’t either.

Other posts you might like:

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:

Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Calling All Atheists

  1. NotAScientist

    February 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    “But what I don’t understand is how atheists come to a solid conclusion that there is no such thing as The Life Force of the Universe…..”

    It’s not a solid conclusion.

    It’s a conclusion of varying degrees of solidity, depending on the person, based on the available evidence. In this case, the lack of evidence where some should be available if the claim is true.

    You seem to be conflating ‘energy’ and ‘god’.

    If the god you believe in is energy, and ONLY energy…then there’s no good reason to call it anything else.

    If the god you believe in is energy PLUS some other stuff, then you have to back up the other stuff with evidence. It’s that simple.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 14, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      I believe in a Creator..a first of all…the whole and not separate pieces, which I equate with energy. Energy is in everything and must have been the initiator of the “big bang”…if that is what happened. I am also not a scientist (as per the name of your blog – which I am going to check out) and I do not claim to know anything about anything…I only try and put the pieces together so that I can find solace in my own life. Can we really say for sure that energy (or what I call the Life Force of the Universe – doesn’t have the power of communication and every other power humans have (plus some)?….After all, there is no denying that life is made of energy. Do I have to prove anything to someone who doesn’t agree with me? No. I accept that there are those that don’t agree with me and that they have their own reasons.
      However…..the point I wanted to bring out in my post is that to not believe in something that binds us all together just seems like an unjustified reason to escape the idea of being accountable for one’s own actions. I understand that being an atheist does not mean that you are a menace to society….but there are many different ways that we effect our environment – especially if you believe, like I do, that we are all part of one thing and everything that happens to another will eventually trickle back to us…like the butterfly effect.
      And…that is not my only point….it seems that by not believing in anything at all – but your own self – you are bound for disappointment. None of us are superheros. Nobody can be perfect all the time – especially if you believe in randomness. I don’t believe that the galaxy acts randomly. I believe The Life Force of the Universe (energy) has its own intelligence and everything that happens, happens for a good and fair and necessary reason…This is what “God” means to me.
      Why don’t I just call “God” energy? Because energy is human description that science has offered us as a tangible explanation for what makes up our life source. But physical science does not suggest that energy is anything other than a bunch of atoms that combine together to cause things to happen. I am suggesting that energy is much more than science claims it to be….therefore I can call it what I want which is The Life Force of the Universe (God).
      Again…I have no reason to prove anything to you, I just want to understand why bother skewing your perspective (because that is what we are both doing) to the side of nothing… Why not skew it to the side of something out there that wants the best for us and if communicated with effectively, can make our lives better than we ever thought possible?
      Thanks for answering my post!
      Peace!

       
  2. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    The problem is that most religions pick and choose what to believe and that is what creates the conflict. The creation story is a perfect example of what I mean. According to the story God created the heavens and earth and everything on it in six days, But if you look at the progression of the story there was a chronological order to that creation with different things being created on different days.

    Most religions teach the idea that we are talking about 24 hour periods and yet later in the very same bible we are told that God’s sense of time and our own human sense of time are mutually exclusive. Which means we have no way of defining a day as God defines a day. If this is the case then is a day in God’s eyes comparable to centuries for us? Eons? We do not know, and yet religions will tell us that our limited understanding is the correct understanding. They will lower God to our level.

    Do I believe in God? Yes I do because I understand that compared to God I’m like a pesky little housefly. The fly’s lifespan is extremely short 15 to 30 days. If that fly could understand and convey the concept of time would a minute for me be like centruries or even eons by the fly’s understanding? It is the same with God.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      Good analogy. I always relate my perspective of life to that of an ant’s perspective of an apple standing next to it. Unfortunately, religions don’t provide a meaningful and logical perspective any more than atheists do….but both (as do I) have the perspective of a fly compared to what the concept of G-d is.

       
  3. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 14, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I figured out a long time ago that when you keep your perspective straight, God can and does exist perfectly alongside Science. I have no problem with faith and reality co-existing perfectly together

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 14, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Trying to get the rest of the world to realize that they don’t have to decide between the two is the bigger issue here. 🙂

       
  4. Dustin

    February 14, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Any abstract idea you come up with could possibly exist. But that admission alone adds no validity at all to your particular abstract idea.

    Given your obvious bias here, think about your reaction if I came up to you and said “there is no reason why a completely material explanation is not possible with no dependencies. Therefore how can you still believe otherwise?”

    Would you not ask me for some evidence?

    “Why not skew it to the side of something out there that wants the best for us and if communicated with effectively, can make our lives better than we ever thought possible?”

    Because I would be indulging in a willful delusion at best and lying to myself at worst.

    I see no evidence for any God concept, and so I can except that there being no God is the most likely reality. That is why I am an atheist. To go even further I find no trouble in forming a positive worldview accepting that there probably is no God or “The Life Force of the Universe” as you call it.

    One more thing. “And please explain to me why you don’t even want God to exist.” If you are addressing atheists in general this question is a non sequitur (does not follow). There may be atheists who do not want God to exist, but that isn’t necessarily connected to atheism. In other words not wanting God to exist is not a prerequisite of atheism.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 14, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      I am aware that what I am saying is a matter of perspective….as well as the fact that you could come to me with the question of why I don’t partake in a material explanation of our existence and I would have no good answer FOR YOU, because as you have stated, it is all perspective and without solid evidence, we cannot say one way or another. But, the point of my post was not to convince you that there is a Creator (although I have my own private evidence that one does exist…hence my bias), but to open your mind in consideration that we know nothing for certain – especially that there ISN’T some force that controls our environment To require evidence to convince you that there is guiding force – before even accepting that there might be…simply defeats the purpose of our individual quests leading us to our ultimate purpose – which, in my opinion, based on my personal experience, is what gives life much more value than simply believing that we got here by accident.
      My post was only to open someones mind up to a different perspective in order to provoke thought…and, if I may ask, where do you understand thought to come from?
      I realize that I am no more (or less) intelligent than you, but my bias has introduced me to a perspective of life that I will never divert from (much). It is true…I did not require proof that there is something more….I was taught that there was and I believed it based on logic telling me that it couldn’t have been random…..but due to my beliefs (or my biased perspective) I have experienced the proof – but my mind had to be open to see it.
      To think to yourself that you would be delusional or lying to yourself to accept (accept – not take on as your own immediately without sound thought) another’s perspective of something that cannot be proven one way or another…would be limiting your mental evolution.
      And…yes, the last question that I asked “…..why you don’t even want G-d to exist” was presumptuous, however, I cannot think of any other reason why someone would not even attempt to accept the possibility of a grander force of nature rather than just physical randomness.
      I appreciate your comment and it did stump me for a short while…because I can see that you are a well thought out individual….but, just to sum up my point, proof is not going to be available unless you first accept that there is a possibility of Its existence.
      In other words, if you don’t look for it, you will never find it.

       
  5. Dustin

    February 14, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    I realize in your post that God existing is a given. But when you ask how someone could be an atheist, and they answer that there is no evidence of the contrary – in this particular case your definition of G-d – it seems a bit disingenuous to then say you are not trying to prove what you believe, but to only open up our minds to a possibility. I figured that this: “How can a person be so sure that there is not an original, a first and only one force (energy) in the Universe that ALL OF US came from.” Was what you were looking for an answer for. Can you accept my answer? Why or why not?

    “To require evidence to convince you that there is guiding force – before even accepting that there might be…simply defeats the purpose of our individual quests leading us to our ultimate purpose – which, in my opinion, based on my personal experience, is what gives life much more value than simply believing that we got here by accident.”

    If this enriches your life, then I’m happy for you. Given that it doesn’t negatively impact those you surround yourself with, of course.

    Despite what you seem to think, my mind is very open. Like I said earlier, any abstract idea has a possibility of being true. It is when it is held up to the scrutiny of investigation and how it lines up with what already know about our reality, that for me, will determine whether it is plausible. I think this is a very rational way to go about moving something from possible to probable and/or likely.

    “I cannot think of any other reason why someone would not even attempt to accept the possibility of a grander force of nature rather than just physical randomness.”

    Accepting the possibility of it being TRUE, for a lot of atheists – I dare say all – depends on the evidence you have for it. Personally, I can’t accept anything blindly – even physical randomness as an answer. BUT if it [physical randomness] makes the most sense I will not deny it because the possibility of a “nicer” explanation can be blindly accepted.

    I don’t want to post some huge reply in the comments so I didn’t address everything you said. I hope I have made myself clear though. If I haven’t, just ask for clarification. Or, if there was something you wanted my thoughts/comments on that I didn’t address, just ask 😉

    Have a good day.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      February 14, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      I hear what you are saying…that you simply have no evidence of anything other than what physical science has set forth. And your point that I should accept your answer just the same as you accept my answer is well taken.
      But…I truly am not trying to change your mind, because it is clear that you have thought about this and you have based your conclusions on thought rather than convenience – which is always good.
      Ultimately, my perspective and your perspective are not far apart – as long as your perspective gets you through this life with dignity, graciousness, wisdom and a smile!
      I’m grateful for the chance to have this exchange…although I do not see things differently…I am still biased and will forever remain biased due to my own experiences and the understanding that it has presented me. As far as accepting something blindly, I do not feel that my perspective is a blind perspective……but if I did feel that I was accepting something with no logical explanation and no with reasonable thought behind it…in other words, if I was attaching myself to a belief solely on the fact that someone told me that it was what I should believe….I would feel the exact same way that you do about it. Blind faith is not true faith in my opinion. Faith (my definition, at least) requires comprehensive thought, which, in my opinion, is what thought is for – to bring us to faith – and – ultimately peace of mind.
      Again, thanks for commenting and the fact that you are able to communicate your feelings and thoughts effectively, I cannot deny respect to you for that.
      Peace!

       

Leave a Reply

 
