RSS

10 Feb

Juststuffthatinterestsme.wordpress.com posted this today and I thought it was a perfect compliment to all my other “good parent” posts.
We must, as parents, realize that our role is not to be our children’s friend. It is to teach them about life. We don’t need our children to like us…they only have to respect us.
So let’s give them a reason to respect us……

Other posts you might like:

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:

Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller

Just Stuff that interests me

When I lost my daughter to a car accident in 2005, my nephew brought her personal effects to me including her cell phone.  He really didn’t want to give me that phone.  He was afraid that I would be upset.  You see she had me in her contact list not as Mom, but as Asspain.

I wasn’t upset in the least.  I was glad she thought that I was a pain in the ass, it’s a title I earned by being her mother, not her friend.  As her mother I had a responsibility to raise her and teach her right from wrong.  It was my responsibility to make sure that she developed the skills she needed in life and as a parent you can’t do that without teaching hard lessons to your children.  If you teen doesn’t think you are a pain in the ass you aren’t doing it right.

View original post 257 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Parenting, Why is Life Unfair?

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “

  1. Cheryl Baumgartner

    February 10, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    We need more parents willing to step up and be parents like this father is doing.

     
  2. Peaceful Controversy

    February 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I second that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
