RSS

8 Year Old Put into Foster Care for Being Overweight

26 Jan

If you don’t know about this story, please click on the link below to read the whole story….

8 Year Old Put into Foster Care for Being Overweight

What a touchy situation.  I get it.  We have to take care of our children which includes making sure that the environment does not pose health risks.

My question is this. How is a parent supposed to unbiasedly decide which health risk is worse, being overweight – or – living with low self-esteem your entire life?

I speak from personal experience as I was a chubby kid and teenager and in my 20’s, I finally felt so inferior to thin people that I went to the gym everyday for 2 hours a day for 2 straight years – until I had my first daughter and gained back all the weight…..and was once again depressed that I may not be good enough because I was heavy.

My daughters are chubby and I have a dilemma on my hands – despite the fact that they both have gym memberships and I encourage them to eat healthy (which I truly believe in doing).  Should I constantly be on them about their weight  – or- should I just let them be happy with themselves and hope that they will make the appropriate decisions regarding their weight (and health) as they get older.

I chose the 2nd option and, to my surprise,  my older daughter, who used to be pretty chunky, lost a lot of weight – ON HER OWN and doesn’t really care that she is not as skinny as Paris Hilton.  She likes the way that she looks.  And so do I.

However, there is still a problem here.  There are kids that really could use some help losing weight because they may not even be aware that it is an option – and that alone is a blow to someone’s self esteem.

So, I propose the following solution; Instead of taking children away from their parents and putting them into foster care so that the state can pay for them, why not take that money and offer it to the parents for special programs – like “fat” camps – that will help the kids, instead of hurt the kids.

Parents have to walk a tight rope when it comes to their children.  If you drill a child too much about all the things that are wrong with them, you risk losing access to that child when there is a real problem…..they will not come to you because they will not want to be criticized.  On the other hand, a anti-disciplinary “friendship” with your child as opposed to a parent-child relationship is not ideal either for obvious reasons.  There must be a balance of the two.  Finding this balance is the challenge of every parent.

Sometimes it does take an outside source to help your child in ways that a you, as a parent can’t, but that outside source does not have to come in a form of punishment for both the parent and the child.  Constructive help is the only help that exists – everything else is judgment and will never be effective.

Other posts you might like:

You are Perfect – No Approval Necessary

Why do Women Wear Heals?

What is a “Good” Mother?

Reality Television – My Guilty Pleasure

Why is Life Unfair?

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “8 Year Old Put into Foster Care for Being Overweight

  1. Cheryl Baumgartner

    January 26, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    There’s too much control of the family under the excuse of child welfare. I don’t see anything about this child being beaten or emotionally abused. So what excuse will be the next one used to separate a child from his or her parents and shove them into a mostly uncaring foster care system?

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      January 26, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      Every story like this is another step in the direction of complete governmental control. What is worse is that even if we are right, the court system is so messed up that just to speak our peace for a crime that we didn’t committ is a punishment.
      And, furthermore, my parents were old school. I got a few good beatings – but would it have been better for me to be taken out of their home? Maybe when I was a kid, I would have said yes, but as an adult, there were valuable lessons that came with those belt smacks. I am not condoning hitting your children, but the definition of “abuse” is not so clear cut.

       
  2. Cheryl Baumgartner

    January 26, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    Reblogged this on pplcheryl63 and commented:
    While this child’s health is a concern, what other excuses will now be used to grant CPS the authority to remove children from their homes? Who will protect the rights of parents to raise their children?

     

Leave a Reply

 
