RSS

Government Bails Out Banks…Not People

25 Jan

I had a very funny conversation with someone tonight and I got the feeling this guy that I was talking to was not only one with the following opinion; He claimed that our countries problems are due to all the people who don’t want to work so not only do they not contribute anything, they are parasites because all they do is feed off the system (i.e. social security, welfare etc.).

This guy is a good guy, but I had to set him straight.

NO! – the problem with this country is precisely the opposite….the wealthy that have enough clout to dictate how government revenue (our tax dollars) are to be spent.

How else can we explain the following waste of our tax dollars and avenues available to  the wealthy (not the poor) giving them the ability to influence what the government does?:

  • Wasteful earmarks (please visit “Citizens Against Government Waste” website for more details about how MUCH the government spends on things that we don’t know about)
  • Extravagant White House parties like the one that took place on Halloween of 2009 (see my post “Is It OK?” for more details
  • The ability of lobbyists (paid by the wealthy) to change opinion and influence the agenda of government
  •  Unnecessary Federal agencies (i.e. the FCC, The Dept of Agriculture if the FDA does the same thing and numerous federal regulatory agencies – just to regulate us unnecessarily)
  • The amount of money spent on war.
  • The amount of money we give to other countries LIKE PAKISTAN – you know, the country Osama Bin Laden found very comfortable for a number of years!?!?
  • Medicaid Fraud – not by the poor, by the doctors!!!!
  • The amount of money “donated” on behalf of presidential campaigns.

And many more unacceptable spenditures and deals that take place when it comes to the making and enforcing our laws, taxing and collecting the citizens and just good old, down home, outrageous unjustifiable governmental extravagance. ($16 muffins?)

And…not to mention the tax loop holes that can be taken advantage of by only the wealthy…..

With that being said…..can we really compare the trivial amount of money that is spent on our poor, sick and lazy to the undeniable and unbelievable spending of the wealthy?

I would say to blame the poor for the economic problems of American would be at the least naive….at the most evil.

If we, the underprivileged = who represent the majority of society, don’t do something to help ourselves, we will be left in the cold.  The Government bails out banks – not people.

How do we do this?  I say that we all go on strike.   We learn to be content with very little and don’t continue to feed money into a system that is ready to collapse.

Isn’t that what people do when they are unhappy with conditions at a job and they want change?

I am on strike.  I do not spend unnecessary money.  Between my husband and I, we find a way to come up with the minimum amount necessary to live; our rent ($1000 a month which includes utilities) and food (very little – bread and water will do if we don’t have money that week).  It is not hard to do, because we don’t require much.  I refuse to work to get paid to do stupid things because I have to have a job to spend money on even more stupid things so that the economy “works”.

The economy is not working.  It is an illusion – just like a ponzi scheme.

Please understand, that if you love what you are doing and you feel a benefit and satisfaction from the actual work that you do – I would never suggest that you stop – that is a true blessing.

I am suggesting to strike out against the rat race that the government, the media, our friends and family have convinced us is necessary to have a “good” life.  The rat race that we face everyday the moment our alarm clock beeps at 6AM every morning –   is only bringing stress to our minds, bodies and souls.

Instead, spend your energy figuring out what really makes you happy.  Take time to smell the roses.  Take a long walk somewhere and look at things that you have never taken the time to look at before.  Breathe fresh air. Learn something new.  Explore yourself.   Work for what you must have not what you think you want or need.

Learn how to be content with little and you will understand what freedom is.

Stop chasing the dream of fortune and, instead, define fortune as freeing yourself from the chains of governmental oppression.

I realize that this sounds crazy to most people (trust me, I am very aware of how crazy I sound)….but…..all I ask is that you think about what I am saying.  Don’t react, just think about it.

How much do we really need?

One more question to think about….

Do we need what we think we need for the sake of our happiness…or…do we need what we think we need to impress others?

There is a Hebrew saying that translates into the following:

A rich person is someone who is happy with his lot

Other posts you might like:

Inequality is Not a Racial Issue – It Is a Human Issue

Avoiding Controversy at All Costs

Paycheck or Self Respect – I’ll Take Self Respect

Status of Occupy Wallstreet

New Yorkers – You are Being Taxed by the MTA

Being Richer Does Not Mean that You are Smarter

What is Our Purpose?

Greed….The Deadliest Sin of Them All

Why is Life Unfair?

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Government Bails Out Banks…Not People

  1. Cheryl Baumgartner

    January 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    I compare today with the ways things were when I was growing up. Today we live a ‘disposable’ lifestyle. We always have to have the biggest and bestest of everything. Keeping up with the Joneses is a way of life today. Credit granted on the basis of having a heartbeat, invisible money and the I want it now mentality has combined to create a society where we always want what is next instead of what we have.

    When I was coming up, credit was for things like a home or car, all consumables were purchased with cash. It was easy to see the money going when you saw it physically passing from your hand into someone else’s. You saved your money until you could afford to buy what you wanted instead of just whipping out your Visa.

    Yes part of the blame is our own, but we got here through government interference. Government encouraging the approval of loans to people who could not afford them. Banks becoming a requirement instead of an option. Direct Deposit and the need of a credit/debit card to do anything. The first step is to stop depending on those credit cards and start using cash again. Stop using credit to buy consumables and paying interest on what you can buy outright. Save your money until you can afford to buy what you want without dipping into credit.

    I could go on and on about this one. Because what we are doing in our personal financial life is a case of “Monkey see, monkey do.” we have developed the exact same wasteful spending habits as the Government and the wealthy even though we can’t afford it.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      January 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      I could go on and on also. I think I am realizing that I am blogging to in order to shout this out. We must take responsibility for ourselves because the government is not here for our benefit. They are not going to help us when things get worse. As you say, dependency on invisible money is straight up dumb.
      I am just going to get louder when it comes to this subject, because every time I write I cannot stop because it makes me angry and even more frustrated that most people don’t see it the way that I see it. Most people continue living in la-la land (I think you had a post talking about this problem).
      We (on a collective) level want to be more than we are when it comes to our finances instead of being who we are.
      Peace!

       
      • Cheryl Baumgartner

        January 25, 2012 at 6:36 pm

        Children today have never really ‘lived within their means’. From the earliest age today’s kids are seeing mom or dad whip out the credit card and buy whatever they or the kids wants. When I was a kid I might have wanted but I didn’t get it unless it was affordable or I saved my pennies and bought it myself.

        I still remember learning my lesson about living within my means. Like all the kids I wanted the ‘in’ clothing. Once I started working my mom told me if I wanted it, I could pay for it. Didn’t take long for me to kick that little Izod alligator to the curb and buy clothes without the hot designer labels.

         
      • Peaceful Controversy

        January 25, 2012 at 7:08 pm

        The “designer labels” and designer lifestyle is all brainwash. We must be smarter than that on a collective level and maybe one day this baloney will change and people will have a better opportunity to make money for and spend it on a quality life – not a designer one.

         

Leave a Reply

 
