RSS

Peace is a Right of Every American Citizen

06 Jan

I got a comment on my post regarding Rick Santorum’s speech in New Hampshire opposing the legalization of gay marriage that made me think and I wanted to take this point a little further.

I am not sure if the problem with regards to gay marriage is whether gays should be able to legalize marriage – or – the government shouldn’t have the right to mandate marriage at all (taxes included).  I don’t have an opinion on this – yet, but I feel that it might be possible that we are misplacing our anger (if we have anger) when it comes to this topic.

I am going to tip toe here, as I have not thought this through as of yet, but as I was replying to the comment I was thinking that if there are indeed tax benefits to being married and if two people love each other and want to be married and collect that tax benefit, maybe the issue is not what is considered an acceptable marriage, but how involved our legal system is in our personal lives.  Maybe that is the real issue.

But on the other hand, shouldn’t a couple with children benefit from some additional tax breaks?

But on the other hand, why can’t the entire tax system not take into account what your marriage status is and just go by the amount of people contributing to a household?

I don’t know the answer to this and even if I did think that the government was too involved in our personal business – what difference would that make?  Are they going to stop any time soon?

So, instead, I ask myself…Why is the government so involved with every little detail of our life?…… And its only getting worse.  Regulations are getting so out of hand that today, our children have much less of a chance starting their own small business as I would have when I was young – or my parents did when they were young.

Why does the government have a right to cause division within our society?  If there is controversy, 90% of time the government is involved. (That was a random figure – I have no idea if that is true, but you get my point).

If anything, the primary job of our government should be to make sure that the animosity between the government’s constituents be kept to a minimum.  Not the other way around.

Bottom line – what is the role of government if not to keep it’s citizens happy.  Isn’t peace a right of ours?

Why isn’t our government regulating on behalf of that right?!!

Other posts you might like.

Status of Occupy Wallstreet

New Yorkers – You Are Being Taxed by the MTA!

Democrats vs. Republicans – The Third World War

Greed…The Deadliest Sin of Them All

Why is Life Unfair?

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Peace is a Right of Every American Citizen

  1. Kim

    January 7, 2012 at 3:06 am

    Hey Peaceful Controversy, I appreciate your blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
