RSS

Is This OK?

12 Jan

Every once in a while I turn on “Toddlers and Tiaras” (TLC) and it never ceases to amaze me.  As I am someone who tries very hard not to judge another for their choices, I do, however, like to give my opinion (if I can back it up with some common sense).  Please watch this short clip (sorry about the advertisement) and read on….

Ok…here we go.

I apologize to all those families who will not agree with what I am about to say, but….I must say what I think (that’s why I have a blog).

This little girl is very cute and I don’t believe her mother is trying to “prostitute” her baby.  The mother said herself that she wore the same costume when she was a little girl and she is clearly ok.  Understood, however….

This is just one clip of thousands that I had to choose from.  This is an epidemic and I believe, in my humble opinion, that teaching our little girls to smile and be pretty and then they will “win” is not a good lesson to teach.  We have fought for many, many years for equal rights and, though I am not a “feminist”, I do believe that limiting our dynamic abilities as women to being cute really sets us back.

As women – do we want our daughters to grow up thinking that receiving love is dependent on what they look like?  Do we want our children to think that winning is all that matters?  Let’s face reality, we are the most impressionable in our youth.  What we learn when we are young is the hardest to free ourselves of later.  If something is repeated as truth to a young child over and over – how will that young child shake it off when later on he/she may realize it was a lie the whole time?

It is one thing to enter your cute kids in pageants so that they can have a good time and act cute – because that is what kids like to do.  The original concept of pageants probably had that in mind.  But like every other competition, there has to be a winner and everyone is going to do what it takes to be the winner.  But….there is always going to be another winner.  So the competition gets fiercer until…..WHEN?

At least the boobs on this little girl were made of cotton.

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
Other posts you might like:
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
