RSS

Is This OK?

06 Jan

Popular debate across the country comes to the forefront – again- when GOP candidate, Rick Santorum, gets booed off stage by some college students in Concord, New Hampshire:

I never really understood what the beef is when it comes to legalizing gay marriage.   Maybe it is because I am not gay and I have no idea what it would feel like if others did not legally accept who I want to marry  ….but to tell you truth, even if  I was confronted with the fact that others around me would not accept my hetrosexual partner for various reasons that I did not agree with – that wouldn’t stop me from marrying him.

I’m not really getting what the paper from the Justice of the Peace does to validate someone’s love for another.  And – as far as legalizing gay marriage, isn’t Santorum’s argument a legitimately good one?  If you allow any other type of union to legally be considered a traditional marriage – besides a traditional marriage, then where does the buck stop.

Can’t the argument that everyone has a right to be LEGALLY married to whom they want to be married to extend to ridiculous directions?  Let’s not kid ourselves.  We have seen and heard about crazy things that people say and do and if there is an available argument to use to justify behavior that may seem crazy to the general public, you can bet your bottom dollar it will be used.   And – furthermore, if the argument is considered a valid one and laws are accordingly changed …..we all know that all it takes in this country is a good lawyer and 12 people who believe in equality for all to validate something like polygamy  – and who knows what else is in the minds of people.

I just want to make it clear that I don’t care who marries who or what marries what.   That is not my business.  I will do what I think is right for me and I have no opinion as to what is right for someone else….but, as far as forcing it down the throats of everyone and creating a legal ruckus – that in my opinion, is the same as someone butting into someone else’s business and telling them who they should and shouldn’t marry.  If you make something public – then the public is involved.  Cause and effect.  Action and consequence.

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
Other posts you might like:
 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Is This OK?

  1. NotAScientist

    January 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    “I’m not really getting what the paper from the Justice of the Peace does to validate someone’s love for another.”

    It gives them benefits that are given to all married couples.

    “If you allow any other type of union to legally be considered a traditional marriage – besides a traditional marriage, then where does the buck stop. ”

    How about with two people? Somewhat arbitrary, but why not. Any two consenting adults can get legally married, regardless of their gender.

    I see no particular reason to say that polygamy is inherently wrong, especially if everyone enters it consensually. But to keep it simple, I can understand limiting legal government marriage to two people.

    “Can’t the argument that everyone has a right to be LEGALLY married to whom they want to be married to extend to ridiculous directions?”

    Not really, no.

    “but, as far as forcing it down the throats of everyone and creating a legal rucku”

    Sorry, but this doesn’t work. What the couple does down the street doesn’t impact you, whether they are the same gender or opposite ones. And if the government lets them get married, there is zero impact on you.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      January 6, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      I really appreciate your response. I just want to comment on one of your very valid points – because I was actually going to use it as an argument, but when I looked into it, I thought I was incorrect – but you brought that very argument up.
      “It gives them benefits that are given to all married couples” – I am assuming tax benefits? If so, then my argument would be (and was originally) – tax benefits effect all us. And if that is the case than when you say that there is zero impact on me (and everyone else) you would not be correct.
      Again – I appreciate that everyone has rights to do what ever they want, but when it comes to the “legality” of things (which, by the way – that is a whole other controversial issue, so don’t assume I think what is “legal” is what is right and what is not “legal” is what is wrong)…rules must be a little more stringent in order to be able to have a system that works. As we can see, our legal system is a little faulty (not that I could do better) and I believe it is because the rules are flimsy (because we are human) and easily arguable.
      I realize this is a sensitive issue to all those that it affects, however, what I want to bring out in this blog is the fact that sometimes we put too much emphasis on what other people think and not enough on how we feel. If we didn’t care about what other people think about us and we did things that we felt were the right thing to do for us, and our choices only affected ourselves as opposed to including everybody in our decision, our “legal” system could be less complicated, regulated, and less confusing at the end of the day.
      Thanks again for your input- I look forward to discussing further.. Shayna

       
  2. Matthew Rosario

    January 9, 2012 at 4:32 am

    It’s so typical for these hyper religious folk to ask more questions than give more answers. “So we’re saying everyone and marry anybody?”….. Yes, that’s what the definition of freedom to pursue happiness for everyone entails…. silliness. I always crack up laughing when same sex marriage gets to the part of debate where politician are saying, “well what’s to stop people from marrying a dog or an object, we can’t have that”. If someone married a dog, how would that affect your life? It wouldn’t. All it means is that THEY’RE definition of happiness differs from yours, but doesn’t make it any less valid.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      January 9, 2012 at 5:55 pm

      This is a controversial issue because of the reason that it does cause so much controversy. No, people shouldn’t care what others do and who they marry, but at the same time, if people do care – why deal with those people? That is the part I don’t get.
      First of all, if there are tax benefits included (which I am not so sure there are) that does affect others. Those taxes that the state is losing does affect others. So in that case, adding other things to the definition of what is considered a marriage can get real sticky. But, if tax benefits are not included and there is no benefit to a paper that says you are married – why start beef with others? Yes, again, you are right that everyone has a right to be married to whom ever they want – but if the public doesn’t need to be involved – why involve them? I still haven’t gotten a clear answer to this question. Please – someone help with this understanding….

       

Leave a Reply

 
