RSS

Is This Ok?

04 Jan

I found this cute little video this morning.  You can find the whole story at Huffington Post.com.

For some reason, behavior that in the relatively recent past was considered to be taboo, is considered A-OK today.  Who is to say?  We all have opinions and apparently the parents and school faculty in the video above considered this OK.

I, as well as my kids, would not be comfortable with this even if it was meant as a joke….but who am I to judge?  I can only say how I would feel about it for myself (and my family) and since no one was holding a gun up to my head, I would most definitately decline to participate in this “hilarious” prank.   In my opinion, the consequences are not worth the action.  Others apparently disagree.

What do you think?  Besides really bad press, what other consequences is everyone involved facing?  Did this prank really hurt anyone?  If so  –  how?…Everyone seems to be laughing.   Why do you think these adults chose to a) coordinate this prank and b) participate in this prank?

Take the poll and comment below!!

Life is full of controversy so here is a thought to live by:
Why is life unfair?
Because there’s never going to be a system that is fair to everyone.
Shannon Miller
Other posts you might like:
 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Is This Ok?

  1. Mike Bigras

    January 5, 2012 at 1:50 am

    This is no different to me than kids trying to do a trick on skateboards. I wouldn’t try to do the trick on skateboard because I could break my neck. The prize is not worth the risk. But I would sit and watch the kid who tries. He wants to do it. He’s free to do it (looks like his parents are letting him do it). So since I can’t do anything about it, I’ll sit and watch (as long as I’m entertained).

    As for the prank, to me it’s the same. I wouldn’t do it (because I think it’s plain stupid). My kid wouldn’t participate since I wouldn’t (he’d have no one to kiss!!!). Moreover, my kid knows better. But we would watch the video (until it bores us or grosses us out…and thank God, it’s only 59 seconds long) because we can’t do anything about it.

    Life is too short. I choose my battles. Filing a complaint is not the path I would choose.

    Mike

     
  2. Eric

    May 8, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Wow, I personally found it to be gross and deceptive. I do not want to participate in such an event. It felt like entry level to incestuous relations between parents/children.

     
    • Peaceful Controversy

      May 8, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      I can’t help but agree :)….very strange prank for a school to play????

       

Leave a Reply

 
